Forces of Geek: Inaugural LightBox Expo Lifetime Achievement Award Honors H.R. Giger, Ralph McQuarrie, Moebius, Ron Cobb, and Syd Mead

Legendary artists H.R. Giger (Alien), Ralph McQuarrie (Star Wars), Jean “Moebius” Giraud (TRON), Ron Cobb (Back to the Future), Syd Mead (Blade Runner) will be honored with the Concept Art Awards’ Inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award at LightBox Expo in Pasadena, CA.

The Concept Art Association will host its first annual award show: The Concept Art Awards, presented by LightBox Expo. The new industry award is the first of its kind to recognize and bring increased awareness of the role that concept artists throughout the world of movies, television, video games and more. The award ceremony is just of the highlights of LightBox Expo, a one-of-a-kind event featuring 250 of the best artists in the animation, illustration, live action and gaming industries under one roof for the ultimate celebration of art.

The Concept Art Awards honors the behind-the-scenes individuals working within the entertainment industry that help create some of the most iconic art of our time. This year, in addition to awarding excellence in student character art, student environment art, independent character art, independent environment art, and fan art, the Concept Art Awards will be awarding five Lifetime Achievement Recipients.

The Recipients are H.R. Giger (Alien), Ralph McQuarrie (Star Wars), Jean “Moebius” Giraud (TRON), Ron Cobb (Back to the Future) and Syd Mead (Blade Runner). These pioneers helped shape the worlds and characters of some of the biggest science fiction and fantasy movies of the 1970s and beyond and transformed the concept art industry into what it is today.

Concept Art Awards